Nordic Joint Statement Condemning Attacks on Civilians in Karen State, Myanmar

In one joint statement On December 24, the Nordic countries of Denmark, Norway, Sweden and Finland were among several countries condemning attacks on civilians in Myanmar’s Karen state.

The statement reads as follows:

We reiterate our condemnation of the serious human rights violations committed by the military regime across the country.

The recent attacks on civilians in Karen State, including the bombing of villages, violate international humanitarian law and must stop. The attacks have displaced thousands of people, who now need urgent humanitarian assistance.

We call on the regime to immediately cease indiscriminate attacks in Karen State and throughout the country and to ensure the safety of all civilians in accordance with international law.

We echo the United Nations Security Council press statement of November 10, calling for full, safe and unhindered humanitarian access to all people in need, and for the protection, safety and security of all people in need. full safety of humanitarian and medical personnel.

The joint declaration is signed by the Ambassadors, Chargé d’affaires and Heads of Mission of Australia, Canada, the Delegation of the EU and the Member States of the European Union present in Myanmar: Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland , France, Germany, Italy, the Netherlands, Spain and Sweden; as well as New Zealand, Norway, Switzerland, United Kingdom and United States.